Uncategorized

In honor of #WomanCrushWednesday

  
I only occasionally participate in things like #ManCrushMonday or #ThrowbackThursday. I find them fun and cute, but when it comes down to it, I just don’t have the time or mental capacity to remember to keep up with these daily hashtags every single day of every single week of every single month of every single year. But I will indulge in #WomanCrushWednesday today.

If you’ve ever taken a look at my Instagram, Facebook or Twitter, you probably know by now that I have a younger sister whom I absolutely love and adore. Mary Kate was born on April 7, 1998. I was 8 years old and maybe a little too young to understand exactly what was going on. As my parents have been divorced since I was a baby and I grew up living with my dad full time, I felt like my moms pregnancy went by too fast for me to truly process it as a young child. So the first time I ever met my sister it was definitely a little confusing.

Growing up, I only saw Mary Kate for a few weeks at a time a few times a year. Being so far apart in age, there were definitely times where I felt annoyed with her. Once while I was visiting, she stole a handful of my things and hid them in a hat box under her bed. I OF COURSE threw a fit and my mom searched for probably 2-3 days trying to find my stuff before I had to leave to go back home to my dads. When we finally found everything my mom asked her why she did it and she said it was because she didn’t want me to leave.

As Mary Kate has gotten older, we’ve had the opportunity to grow a lot closer. I’ve had the chance to really watch her grow into a smart, strong, driven, beautiful young woman and I honestly could not be more proud. It blows my mind to think that in April she will be 18, in June she will be graduating high school and on the fall she will be starting college.

I honestly look back on my life and cannot imagine having a better sister. No matter where we go in life or what we’re doing, we will always be close and she will always be my permanent #WomanCrushWednesday.

4 thoughts on “In honor of #WomanCrushWednesday

Leave a Reply

