Uncategorized

Opinions, Opinions, Opinions

I’m going to take a moment or two to express an opinion that I have. Because this blog was started with the intention of doing just that.

For the past 5+ years that Ryan and I have been living together, we have busted our asses for the things that we have. When we first moved in together, we lived in a cheap apartment in a decent part of town. The complex wasn’t the best in the area, but it definitely wasn’t the worst either. It was a good started apartment for us though and that’s what mattered to me. We were just excited to live together! At the time, we each had a car, we both had jobs (I worked at Lowe’s and, I’m going to be honest, I don’t remember where Ryan was working at the time) and we had decent things. We were not well off, but we weren’t living in squaller either. Our rent was literally $550 a month and we were easily able to pay our bills. We had basic cable, we had cell phones, we were able to put food on the table. We even had furniture (how exciting)!

In the time that has passed since then, we have been able to move into an apartment that costs almost double what we were paying before. And apartment that I can confidently say we can EASILY afford while still paying our bills. We have both have great cars. We have nice things. We have pets. We have great jobs. We have PREMIUM cable. While we have not personally purchased ALL of our own furniture and electronics, we have been fortunate enough to make major purchases for ourselves, such as a very comfy brand new bed and a nice dining table and chairs. And do you want to know how we managed to get where we are and afford the things that we have? We have worked EXTREMELY hard.

You’re probably wondering why I’m telling you all of this. It’s because I have recently been absolutely BAFFLED by people who refuse to work but still ask for or expect nice things. While I understand that there are people in this world who are limited by their circumstances and are not at fault for the things that do limit them, I find it increasingly frustrating that some people willingly do the bare minimum (or nothing at all) and still expect to be handed things for no reason. If you are not willing to work hard for the things you have, however you obtain them, then you do NOT deserve them. That is a lesson that my father taught me. It’s a lesson that Ryan’s mother and grandfather taught him. And it’s the way we choose to live our lives.

While I was growing up, I was not handed things all the time. My dad and step mom were more than able to provide me with the things that I needed and yes, at times they did spoil me, I can’t even sit here and try to say that they didn’t. But once I was old enough to have a job, I was encouraged to do so. Once I had one, I was expected to pay for the things that I wanted. Was I still GIVEN things that I wanted on occasion? Absolutely. But not on a regular basis. I had my own money and was perfectly capable of spending it on the frivolous things that I felt that I wanted. My parents always gave me what I needed. ALWAYS.

Yes, my parents have helped me out when I really needed it since I’ve moved out on my own. They have supported me whenever I truly needed it. Ryan’s mom has done the same. We would never ask them for things just to ask. We would never expect things from them just because they’re our parents. But we also know that if we are ever in need, they are there for us.

But do you know where I truly draw the line? Public pleading. I’m sorry but as I said before, if I know that you are not willing to work for what you have or for what you are asking me for, why should I ever give it to you?

Anyway, that’s my rant and I apologize. But I really needed to get that off of my chest.

Leave a Reply

