cooking · food

Adventures in Cooking at Home 1: Ingredient and Recipe Delivery Services?

So Ryan and I have been seeing a ton of ads for ingredient and recipe delivery services. I mean, who hasn’t seen them? From Blue Apron to HelloFresh, tons of companies are popping up claiming to be the cheapest, best way to have fresh ingredients and recipes delivered right to your door so that you can make delicious meals at home without all the hassle of going to the grocery store. Who wouldn’t want something that simple?

Honestly, grocery shopping is a hassle for us all the time. Ryan and I prefer to go later in the evening to avoid the crowds and the lines. This works only about 50% of the time. I guess it depends on where we go (I prefer shopping at Target but Wal-Mart is like less than a mile from us). On top of that, Ryan will tell you that I’m VERY particular about the way I shop. I have a set routine of where I like to start and if we deviate from that, it’s not fun…. So maybe some sort of delivery service would be good for us? We’d still have to go to the store for things like toiletries, cleaning supplies and things for breakfasts and lunches (lunch meat, cheeses, breakfast sandwiches, etc) but the bulk of our groceries would be bought and paid for without the need to for us to go anywhere. (Hell if you really think about it, we could have all the rest of that stuff delivered too if we wanted to.)

So I did a little research on the top 3 companies I could find (If anyone has any suggestions of places I can look PLEASE let me know).

HelloFresh- I was really put off by the fact that you literally just select whether you want the classic box or the veggie box and then you put in your delivery info and pay. As far as I could tell from their website, there’s NO customization what so ever. This was also the most expensive option between the 3 at $69.00 for 3 meals for 2 people. Given the option between the 3 companies, this would probably NOT be the one we would choose.

Blue Apron- From what I can tell, this seems to be the most popular of the 3 companies. It’s definitely more customizable than HelloFresh, but you really can’t input allergies from what I can tell so I probably wouldn’t recommend for people who DO have food allergies. Once you sign in, you pick your plan (either 2 person or family style) and then you specify what meats you eat or if you are a vegetarian. I literally searched this portion for 20 minutes trying to figure out a way to enter food allergies! Another thing that bothers me is that there are only 3 delivery day options and they are Thursday, Friday or Saturday. I don’t know about you guys, but that doesn’t really work for us. We typically eat out over the weekend so I’d prefer my deliveries earlier in the week. It also doesn’t look like you can swap things out that are on the menu, so if they send you ingredients for something that you don’t like or can’t eat, I guess you’re kind of out of luck. It is cheaper than HelloFresh, at $59.94 for the 2 person plan, but not the cheapest of the three. If it was more customizable and offered better delivery options, I probably would try this service.

Home Chef- This was definitely the most customizable of the three. Once you log in, they have you do a Taste Profile. This is how it works: first you enter your zip code so they can make sure that they deliver to your area (for the record, all three sites do this and in case you’re wondering, they all deliver to Dublin, Oh!). From there you will select how many servings you’d prefer per meal and how many meals a week you’d like. After that, you will pick what kind of eater you are (Omnivore, Meat and Seafood, Meat, Pescetarian, Vegetarian) and enter in food allergies (Hallelujah for real on that one!). Once you enter that info, you’re taken to the menu. They auto select how ever many meals you chose for you, but you can swap them out for other options at this point, which I really like! This was also the cheapest option of the three (but only by about 20 cents) at $59.70 for 3 meals a week for 2 people. Between the three options, I personally think this one was the best and would be the one I would choose!

Keep in mind, I haven’t actually tried any of these services yet. That’s a discussion between Ryan and I that we’ll save for another day. If we do decide to try one, believe me I’ll let you know how that goes. The positive to these services from what I can tell (aside from all the other ones listed) is that you can try them for as long as you’d like and you’re not locked in to anything so if you choose to cancel you can anytime.

If any of you have any experience with these services PLEASE let me know. What other services are out there that you know of? Leave your comments below and I’ll make sure to look into them!

Until next time!

Brittney

Leave a Reply

