Uncategorized

Adventures in Trying to Save Money by Not Eating Out

First of all, let me just apologize to those of you who actually read this for my absence. As you can all tell, I did not complete my 500 Words a Day Challenge. After our Gender Reveal Party (WE’RE HAVING A BOY!) things began to get pretty crazy and it was so difficult for me to keep up with writing every single day. Usually I would beat myself up over this, but this time I’m not going to. Realistically, I know that it’s a lofty goal to achieve with everything that Ryan and I have going on in our lives right now. At this point, I’m just going to make an effort to update as often as I can!

So anyway! Ryan and I have been making an effort to eat at home every night this week. We started on Sunday with burgers and mac and cheese.  Today is Wednesday and so far we’ve done pretty well I think. It’s a far cry from meal planning (we usually make a decision on what to eat the day of) but it’s a start at least.

It’s got me thinking a lot though- how can I expand my horizons when it comes to cooking. In our house, we TRY (key word here because Ryan is a total kitchen hog!) to split the cooking evenly when we actually do it. Ryan LOVES to cook, and he’s really fantastic at it. I also love to cook, but sometimes I can be lazy so I have to motivate myself to do it. But I get sick of making the same things all the time. So here’s my request: What recipes do you all have that you’d be willing to share that we could try out.

Some guidelines for us though: Ryan HATES onions and tomatoes and I am not a seafood eater and can’t eat mushrooms. Other than that, anything is pretty much fair game. I mean, there’s only SO many times you can eat Chicken Alfredo and Macaroni before you become sick of it. And really, with a baby on the way, we need to be much more careful with the amount of times we eat out. It’s expensive and unnecessary and probably incredibly unhealthy to eat Chipotle as much as I do.

So have at it people! Send me your favorite recipes and Ryan and I will try them out. We’ll even post pictures and reviews of what we thought!

I’m counting on you friends and family!

Leave a Reply

