Uncategorized

500 Words a Day Day 6- How does one go about “meal planning”

So….. Have any of you ever successfully meal planned/prepped? I see people talking about it all the time on Pinterest, blogs, Facebook, Twitter, etc, but I don’t know if anyone I know has ever actually done it and stuck to it.

It’s definitely something that I’ve wanted to try for a while. Maybe try isn’t the right word. I always go to the store with the best intentions and then I never do it. So I have TRIED in a sense.

I feel like it requires a lot of effort. You have to plan out what you want for every meal for at least a whole week. How are you even supposed to know what you’re going to want to eat for dinner 7 days from now? What if something sounds good on Sunday when you prep it, then by Thursday when you’re supposed to have it, you change your mind and decide you don’t want it anymore?

I really like the idea behind it, don’t get me wrong at all. I think it would be SUCH a time saver throughout the week and it’s something that I feel could be very beneficial for Ryan and I to implement now and continue doing once the baby comes. I mean, we’re gonna be pretty busy at that point! But the problem is that it’s hard to stick with if you aren’t sure how to do it successfully.

From what I’ve read, it seems pretty basic. You decide what you want to eat for your meals for the week, buy all of the ingredients and then prep everything one day (usually Sunday) for the rest of the week. Then, on the day your going to have that meal, you grab it and go, or whatever. Obviously there are somethings that you can’t really premake but could at least make as much as you can.

I guess my biggest question for everyone is this- have you done it? How did it work out for you? If you were successful, what steps do you take or process do you use that helps you.

I think ideally, like I mentioned earlier, this is something that Ryan and I really need to get in the habit of doing before the baby comes. There are going to be nights where we don’t feel like making dinner. There will be nights where we just don’t have TIME to even think about it until the very last minute. So I just think that being able to have our lunches and dinners planned out ahead and prepped as much as possible on Sunday or whenever we decide to do it would be perfect for us because we can spend all that time we normally spend trying to just decide on dinner, let alone actually executing the process of making it, on the baby and each other.

Any and all advise would be greatly appreciated. I don’t care if you’ve had success or not. I’ll basically try it any way I need to at this point just to figure out how it will work best for us.

Leave a Reply

