Uncategorized

500 Words a Day-Capital H

The first warped tour compilation I ever bought was from 2004. Honestly, I only bought it because there was a Yellowcard song on it and I had a massive crush on Ryan Key, but I fell in love with the rest of the compilation pretty quickly. There was so much music on there, stuff that I’d never really heard before and it opened up a whole world for me musically. One song in particular really stuck with me.
At the time I had my first listen to Capital H by Motion City Soundtrack, I’d been going through a lot. I was about half way through my freshman year of high school, which was shaping up to be the absolute worst year of my life. I’d lost all of my friends, was Probably not doing very well at all in any of my classes and had slipped back into the deep depression that had threatened to end my life only 8 months before. Therapy wasnt really helping at that point and I felt more lonely and alienated than ever.
But then I heard Capital H and things started to change. Justin’s voice had this relatable quality to it that made me feel like I wasn’t alone. The song itself taught me how to pick myself back up and keep trying, even when I wanted to give up.

Like every other time I’ve ever fallen in love with a song (Roots Radicals by Rancid, Grand Theft Autumn by Fall Out Boy, Jude Law and a Semester Abroad by Brand New and dare I say it, Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous by Good Charlotte) I immediately went out and bought Motion City Soundtracks first record I Am The Movie and fell even more in love. Something in the frantic way Justin sang every verse and chorus was comforting to me.

Then, only a few months later, Commit This to Memory came out. I bought it the day it came out, of course, and listened to it non stop for 6 months straight. I memorized every single word, every note. I was obsessed.

To this day, those two records remain in my top ten FAVORITE records of all time. Especially Commit This to Memory. The story behind the entire record is incredible.

Maybe this isn’t the most well written post I’ve ever posted. Truth is, I could never really appropriately put into words how much those albums mean to me. Suffice it to say I probably wouldn’t be alive today if it weren’t for Justin and his lyrics.

I was lucky enough to have a chance to see Motion City Soundtrack perform Commit This to Memory in its entirety back in January during the Commit This to Memory 10 Year Anniversary tour. It was truly amazing to see one of my favorite bands perform one of my favorite albums live.

I was also incredibly lucky to get the chance to meet Justin after the show. It was very brief and I regrettably did not get a chance to tell him how much his music means to me, but it was an incredibly special to me none the less. 

This is not incredibly well written and it’s kinda late for a post. But there you have it. My 500 words.

Leave a Reply

