Uncategorized

500 Words a Day. Take 3……

So I’ve tried to start this 500 Words a Day challenge twice before. Once I made it about 4 days and then couldn’t finish. The second time….. I only made it a day.

Third times the charm though right?

For those of you that don’t know what the 500 Words a Day challenge is, it’s basically where you commit yourself to writing 500 words a day. Yeah…. It’s literally that simple. Or so I thought the first two times I attempted to do it. It is NOT in fact that simple. You have to REMEMBER to do this every day. That seems like a pretty easy task when you first think about it, but then you have to consider how much we do with our lives throughout a day. Like work and school and family and friends and cleaning and pets and food and the ever present television.

It’s just so hard to commit to small things like this. In the grand scheme of what is important in life, writing 500 words a day does not really fall under the high priority category for most people.

For me though, while it may not be HIGH priority, it should definitely be a priority that’s fairly up there on the scale. Writing has always been something that I really enjoy and, not to toot my own horn or anything but I like to think that I’m fairly good at it. When I was in middle school and high school I used to right (incredibly emo and depressing) poetry during my free time. I was so convinced I was going to become this incredible song writer like Blake Schwarzenbach or Pete Wentz or whatever. Looking back on that time now, I can see that while my poetry was very emotionally charged, I should have been smart enough to realize at the time that no one in the world would want to listen to songs written by a sad 15 year old girl.

As much as I’d love to get back into poetry again, it’s not something that I have any time for anymore. Frankly, at that point in time I always felt like whenever ANYTHING happened my whole life was falling apart (as does every teenage girl at one time or another). Now I realize that while the emotions were valid, my life was pretty good compared to some people. And now, I’m just a lot more together than I was back then. I wrote to deal with my emotions because I didn’t know how to talk about them properly to other people. I’m still not an expert at that, but I’m much more comfortable with it than I used to be.

I do really enjoy writing in general though. Which is why I’m taking this challenge. It’s something that relieves stress for me and anyone who knows me well at all knows that I bottle up my emotions sometimes and hold on to the things that stress me out. Maybe “poetry” isn’t the way to do it for me anymore, but blogging sure seems nice.

So there it is. Day one of my challenge. I am stating openly for all of the world to see that I am committed to doing this. Fingers crossed right?

Leave a Reply

