Uncategorized

Honestly

I’ll be honest, I like 5 Seconds of Summer, but I’ve never really been a huge, follow everything they do, watch all the videos, know all about them, listen to ever single song kind of person. I mean, I like She Looks So Perfect and Amnesia and Good Girls and She’s Kinda Hot and I appreciate that they are pop punk (because they are. I’ve been listening to pop punk for a majority of my life so I have every right to make that judgement and be accurate). 

But I don’t think that I ever really appreciated how good they are as a band until now. It’s clear to me that they just don’t give a fuck about what every one wants them to do or say or think or feel. They are themselves, which is the TRUE definition of punk rock. And that’s truly amazing. You know what other bands are/were like that?

  • All Time Low
  • Fall Out Boy
  • Green Day
  • Blink 182
  • Rancid
  • Bad Religion
  • My Chemical Romance
  • MxPx
  • NoFX
  • Nirvana
  • Simple Plan
  • Good Charlotte
  • Goldfinger

Pop Punk, Punk Rock, Grunge. 

You can’t fight me on this if you’d like. Tell me that I don’t know what I’m talking about. Tell me that I’m wrong and that’s totally fine. Go for it. But I’m here to tell you that when I do listen to 5SOS, those are the influences I hear in their music. And those are bands I’ve grown up loving for the last 10-15 years.

There is nothing more punk rock than being yourself and living your life the way you want.

End.

Leave a Reply

