Uncategorized

Untitled (Originally posted on 3/27/2015)

I’m too tired to come up with a catchy little title for this, but I have many thoughts.

I’m going to start of by saying that, while I do try moderately hard to keep up on the news, I didn’t learn about this absolutely disgusting, horrible law being passed in Indiana until last night.

The story goes like this: last night Ryan and I were on our way to a New Found Glory concert when my phone basically blew the fuck up with Twitter notifications, all from Jack Antonoff.  (Side note- I like to turn on notifications for people I regularly TwitStalk and Jack is probably number one on that list. It’s not weird I just really respect and love the shit out of that guy). For anyone who does not follow his Twitter or just generally does not know, Jack made the decision to proceed with his concert in Indiana despite having strong feelings against the law recently passed giving restaurants in Indiana the right to refuse service to LGBT diners. My thoughts are as follows:

This law is absolutely awful. It truly disgusts me that we live in a world that has been through the Civil Rights movement, Slavery, the Women’s Right’s movement and various other eras of attempts at acceptance and equality by many other groups, but we cannot accept the LGBT community at all. Every single human person on this planet deserves the right to be accepted for who they are regardless of age, race, sex, religion or SEXUAL ORIENTATION! It is literally that simple. Gays, Lesbians, Bisexuals and Transexuals are still people with thoughts and feelings and lives and families. They feel pain and anger and sadness and joy and hope and love just like the rest of us. They are not animals. They are not lesser beings. They are fucking people. Are we really going to look these PEOPLE in the eyes and tell them they cannot dine in a restaurant with straight people JUST because of who they prefer to have sex with?

I believe, as I’m sure I’ve stated on this blog before, that EVERYONE is entitled to their own beliefs and feelings, but everyone also deserves to be respected for those beliefs and feelings. There is not ONE SINGLE PERSON in this world who believes the exact same thing as you. One of my best friends in the world is a bisexual Atheist. One of my other best friends in the world is a straight Christian. I, personally am a straight Agnostic. I love them both equally because of who they are as people. We do not all have the same beliefs. We do not all have the same sexual orientation, but my friendships with them are based on their personalities and the way they conduct themselves on a regular basis. Do we always agree? No, but we are always respectful of our differences.

On another note, I have so much respect for Jack for taking a stand, but not canceling his concert. I’ve always been a huge fan of his since his Steel Train days and throughout everything he’s done over the years, and this just reinforces why. It’s very clear to me that Jack has a lot of respect for his fans and for the music to not throw a pity party of the situation and cancel a show. I understand that at certain times it may be acceptable, but tend to think that being the bigger person while still letting your voice be heard is more effective.

So thank you Jack. Thank you for speaking up. Thank you for having class. You are a true prince among ordinary men.

I’d love to know your thoughts. Leave them in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

